1831 AD founded

In 1831, the Leeds School of Medicine was established with the aim of serving the needs of the five medical institutions which had been established in the city. In 1874, the Yorkshire College of Science was created to provide education for the children of middle-class industrialists and merchants. Financial support from local industry was crucial in setting up the college and aiding the students. The university continues to recognize these elements of its history; for example, there is still a Clothworkers' Court on campus.

The College of Science, modeled on Owens College, Manchester, was established in 1851 as non-sectarian, and was open to Protestant Dissenters, Catholics and Jews (though not then to women) since Oxford and Cambridge restricted attendance to members only of the Church of England. University College London was non-sectarian. The religious qualification ceased in the 1850s but the classics-based education continued at Oxford and Cambridge. The Northern colleges continued to promote themselves as offering a general education that was progressive and pragmatic in nature as were the technical colleges of Germany and the ancient universities upon which they were modeled.

Leeds was given its first university in 1887 when the Yorkshire College joined the federal Victoria University on 3 November. The Victoria University had been established by royal charter in 1880; Owens College being at first the only member college.

Leeds now found itself in an educational union with close social cousins from Manchester and Liverpool.

Leeds, England
Lattitude: 53.7997° N
Longitude: 1.5491° W
Region: Europe
Modern Day United Kingdom
Subjects Who or What founded?
Timelines (that include this event)
per page
Events in 1831 MORE
Shane Bow Thai Hangman Thai Drills alasnome sirijanda sirijanda CrossFit F3 dcce