11/06/1874 AD founded

The University of Adelaide was established on 6 November 1874 after a £20,000 donation by grazier and copper miner Walter Watson Hughes, along with support and donations from Thomas Elder.

The university's first chancellor was Sir Richard Hanson, and the first vice-chancellor was Augustus Short. The first degree offered was the Bachelor of Arts, and the university started teaching in March 1876. John Davidson was the first Hughes professor of English literature and mental and moral philosophy.

The university has a long history of championing the rights of women in higher education. It was the second university in the English-speaking world (after the University of London, 1878) to admit women on equal terms with men (1881), although women studied alongside men from the commencement of classes in 1876 and were equally eligible for all academic prizes and honors.

Lattitude: 34.9275° S
Longitude: 138.6° E
Region: Australasia
Modern Day Australia
Subjects Who or What founded?
Timelines (that include this event)
per page
Events in 1874 MORE
Shane Bow Thai Hangman Thai Drills alasnome sirijanda sirijanda CrossFit F3 dcce